top of page

A Passion For Pores

For those who do not know me, I have a passion for skincare.

Once upon a time, I was a little girl who struck gold in my mother’s bathroom cabinet. I swung open the door to find four shelves of brushes, cleansers, toners, lipsticks, and shadows. Something about those products sparked a fire in me. I would sit and just watch my mom get ready in the morning in awe of how she was able to blend the palettes and create a masterpiece in so little time.

From that point on, I started my own collection (obviously a very cheap one). I collected mascaras, creams, lipsticks, glosses, eye shadows, and more. I spent hours looking at magazines and trying to replicate a look on myself. It was fascinating, the options and the thrill of creativity. After a while, I became pretty good at applying my own makeup, which was when my friends would ask for my help in doing their own. I would practice on anyone who would let me. Smokey eyes. Bright lips. Bronzed skin.

The best part of doing other’s makeup isn’t the actual act in itself, but the aftermath. There is nothing more rewarding than doing something you love, which also makes others feel good about themselves. My stomach churns every time I turn the mirror over, but when their face lights up…my day is made.

Of course, like everything in life, trends change. The makeup became heavier and the face behind the makeup became increasingly more hidden. The more makeup tutorials I watched, the less I loved the trade. It became more about changing your look than supplementing it. This is when I made the change from makeup to skincare. Yes, makeup is creative and fun, but skincare embraces who you are in your truest form.

I believe in making others feel beautiful just the way they are, not masking them in contours, highlights, and over-lined lips. Therefore, instead of collecting concealers, I began researching the best vitamins for your skin, the gentlest toners, the best charcoal masks, and how to avoid breakouts. To supplement my research, I myself started taking vitamins, wearing less makeup, and pampering my pores. Little by little, I received compliments for my skin and how much happier I seemed because instead of hiding behind my foundation I was flaunting my fresh skin.

Now you don’t have to go completely makeup-free, because even I still put on some makeup, but you will find much more happiness in pampering what you have instead of drawing on what you don’t.

bottom of page